Happy Mother’s Day, Dearest Mar Mar

I’m wishing my mom a very happy Mother’s Day, all the way over there on the other side of the world.

I miss her a lot.

I’m always very aware of just how lucky I am to have her.  One of the things I absolutely adore about my mom is her unwavering support and guidance. No matter what endeavor I take on, she is so proud of me. She encourages me to go further and explore what other possibilities there might be. Whether it be posting to a trivial little blog, running a half-marathon, or moving across the world (she is the one that fueled that fire, by the way), she is so engaged and supportive.

One of my most favorite pictures. Mom at…3 years old maybe?

When I was in high school, I didn’t get to see her a lot. She works night shifts at a veterinary lab (with a long commute from the farm into the city), so she’d often be gone for work by the time I got home from school. And in the morning, she’d either be sleeping, or not home yet at all.

But she was still there for all the important things. Actually, for things that I would not have deemed terribly important at the time. But they mattered to her. And now looking back, I’m incredibly grateful that they did. For instance, in grade 12 I had a ringette tournament in Calgary and had planned to go shopping for my emcee outfit between games (I was emceeing the annual grad fashion show). My mom stayed in the city after she had finished work, showed up to cheer me on at my 8 am game (after she had only gotten 3 hours of sleep), then took me shopping. Not because she had to, but because she wanted to. Never once complaining or letting on how exhausted she was.

She still works long hours at the vet lab during the week and is often helping dad out on the farm on the weekends, chasing after those damn cows (my words, not hers ha!). She is the hardest working person I know.

She has only ever had my best interests at heart and my happiness is one of her top priorities. When I protest about her worrying or bending too far backwards for me, she tells me “I’m always going to be your mother”.

Yes, you will Mar Mar. I am so blessed. If there’s anything I hope to attain in this life, it’s to possess a fraction of your selflessness and generosity, kindness and love. You are the most beautiful person I know, inside and out. I wish you a very happy Mother’s Day. I love you!

~C.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day, Dearest Mar Mar

  1. Pingback: Bring to me all of the pizza!! Plus, some Friday Favorites | runningthroughdays

  2. Pingback: Bring to me all of the pizza!! Plus, some Friday Favorites | runningthroughdays

Leave a Reply

